Where I Shop

Very often I get asked where I shop for clothes. I think people would be surprised to see how little I actually do shop for myself. I usually invest into 1-3 designer pieces per season and over the years I have accumulated a very nice capsule wardrobe where I can mix and match my items generating new outfits all the time.
I’d say I buy a good deal of clothes while on holiday when I’m a little more inclined to treat myself, plus it is just so much fun to explore new stores. But nonetheless
I have some favourites here in London too:

Department & Concept Stores  

  • Harvey Nichols – my favourite department store, not too big, great selection of everything and conveniently close to where I live.
  • Liberty London – for cosmetics. Great (in my eyes the best) selection of cosmetic brands, some of which you can’t get anywhere else. I get some of my favourites here: Le Labo, Aesop, Perricone MD, Shu Uemura and my most recent discovery (I will tell you more soon) Byredo Parfums. Very friendly staff too.
  • Dover Street Market – it’s more like an excursion vs a shopping trip. A very inspiring place. If you go there bring with you some time and explore this wonderful market place.

Boutiques

  • Aime – small boutique stocking mainly French labels such as Isabel Marant, Forte Forte, APC and some nice jewellery bits. The range is quite commercial (in a good sense) and I can always find something I like.
  • Joseph Westbourne Grove – really like the selection of brands (there are other Josephs but I particularly like the one in Notting Hill). One of the few places in London to stock Golden Goose Sneakers.
  • Feathers – Mainly because they stock Toga, one of my favourite brands plus a couple of others which I like; so tend to check it out when I’m in the area.
  • Matches Notting Hill – nice selection of brands, but I mainly go there because the staff are so nice.
  • CoChineChine – When I find myself in North London I make sure to pop in, cute little boutique, stocking a nice selection of brands, including Sacai and Sacai Luck both of which I like a lot.
  • Donna Ida – visually not the most appealing shop if you ask me, but they offer a great selection of jeans and other easy to wear items.
  • Opening Ceremony – Covent Garden is really not my usual hangout place, but if I do find myself in the area I am sure to visit this store. Staff are very friendly and they have a nice mix of brands.
  • The Shop At Bluebird – conveniently close to where I live I will pop in on a regular basis just to see what’s on offer.
  • Kabiri for contemporary jewellery.
  • Felt for jewellery – this boutique is a little gem, you need a good eye, there are some real treasures to be found.
  • Merchant Archive for shades and jewellery.
  • Caramel Baby & Child for kids clothing. This boutique (there are several, my favourite is the one just off Sloane Square) stocks the most beautiful children’s wear I have ever seen, I wish it came in adult sizes!!

Online

I frequently visit Online shops as part of my job, however I very rarely shop from them. However on the occasions that I have, the experience was a very pleasant one.

There are other big names such as LN-CC, Start, B Store, Browns (note – great for shoes) or the very obvious ones such as Harrods (does my head in!); all of which are nice but for some reason I have not connected with. Nonetheless I though you may want to check them out and make up your own mind ;)

Happy Shopping ! x

Comment

